Visit our video channel

Latest results

Click here for competition results

Doping-Free Games

Click here to get more information on Anti-Doping programmes during the World Combat Games



Muaythai or Thai Boxing is a form of hard martial art. Today Muaythai uses kicks and punches in a ring with gloves similar to those used in western boxing. Muaythai is referred to as 'The Art of the Eight Limbs', as the hands; shins, elbows, and knees are all used extensively. Also the opponent can strike at eight points of contact. Muaythai is a variation of Muay Boran which translates to 'Ancient Boxing‘. Its form is efficient as it maximizes the amount of damage that each blow can inflict.

Muaythai at the World Combat Games 2010

The Muyathai competitions are held in accordance with the rules and regulations of the International Federation of Muaythai Amateur (FMA).

Weight categories:
Men (8 ctegories): 54kg, 57kg, 63,5kg, 67kg, 71kg, 75kg, 81kg, 91kg
Women (3 categories): 51kg, 54kg, 60kg

The Muaythai tournament is organised as a direct elimination competition. There are eleven weight categories which consist of eight boxers, therefore there are 88 competitors for Muaythai. It is comprised of three phases: preliminaries, semi-finals, and finals. Winners of the preliminary bouts will continue to the quarter final round and winners of the quarter final bouts will advance to fight each other in the semi-final round. The losers of the semi-final round are awarded with the bronze medal, and the winner will advance to the gold medal bout.

Bouts: 4 rounds per match, 2 minutes; each round with 1 minute rest between.

International Federation of Muaythai Amateur (IFMA)